What is an alkaline ph?

The pH scale runs from 0 to 14. 0 is acidic and 14 is alkaline. The pH scale is a logarithmic function of the inverse of hydrogen ion activity. Alkaline substances have fewer hydrogen ions than a neutral (pH 7) substance, thus less hydrogen ion activity, and, as a result, a higher pH.