How do bees make honeycomb?

The glands of worker bees convert the sugar contents of honey into wax, which oozes through the bees small pores to produce tiny flakes of wax on their abdomens. Workers chew these pieces of wax until they become soft and moldable and then add the chewed wax to the honeycomb construction.