What do you know about extra terrestrial life?

We know nothing about what extraterrestrial life would be like, since we haven't encountered any yet. We do know it would be very different from what we're used to (forget humanoid aliens), and that it wouldn't be related to us at all. A tree is more closely related to you than an alien would be.