What are contacts made of?

Soft contact lenses are made of hydrophilic plastics, a type of water-absorbing plastic that stays soft and moist as long as it is absorbing water. Extended wear contact lenses are made out of silicone hydrogel, a material that combines the hydrophilic plastic of soft lenses with silicone.