How did avatar aang pass away?

Being frozen in an iceberg for 100 years while in the Avatar State drained much of Aang's life energy. ... Ultimately, it resulted in Aang dying at the relatively young biological age of 66 since he was in the ice for 100 years, in 153 AG.