What does an aerator do?

An aerator adds air to something, usually a liquid or soil. Common examples include the tip of your faucet, a fish tank bubbler and devices which make small holes in your lawn. In terms of wine, an aerator is used to add air to a freshly opened bottle of red wine to quicken the breathing process.