What is a banshee scream?

A Banshee is said to be a fairy in Irish legend and her scream is believed to be an omen of death. The scream 'caoine' which means 'keening' and is a warning that there will be an imminent death in the family. As the Irish families blended over time, it is said that each family has its own Banshee!