What is the name of the special counsel?

Jack Smith is the special counsel appointed by Attorney General Merrick Garland to follow up the case of ex-Pres. Trump taking boxes of classified documents to FL illegally. Smith is also empowered to follow up other potential criminal violations by Trump & his staff.