How do hummingbirds live?

Hummingbirds have adapted to survive in conditions with cold weather and limited food. They do this by reducing their metabolism and entering a state called torpor. ... During torpor, body temperature drops to as low as 70 degrees, allowing the bird to survive until conditions improve.