What's the record for the world's largest fire?

Great Fire of 1910 burned through 3 million acres in northern Idaho and western Montana. According to the Forest History Society, the wildfire killed 87 people, mostly firefighters, and is believed to be the largest wildfire in U.S. history.

---

The largest wild fire in modern world history was The Black Friday Bushfire in Australia’s Victoria State on January 13, 1939. Roughly 5 million acres burned and 71 people died. About 75% of the entire state was affected and 1,100 homes and log mills were destroyed.