How do you peel a pumpkin?

I cut the pumpkin into pieces. Place the pumpkin pieces, cut side down, on a microwave safe dish with a little water in it. Microwave until the skin can be sliced away easily. Let the pumpkin cool enough so it won't burn your fingers. Slice away the skin and chop or purée the flesh as needed.