Are banana peels good for plants?

Banana peels are good fertilizer because of what they do NOT contain. They contain absolutely no nitrogen. While plants do need nitrogen. too much nitrogen will create lots of green leaves but few berries or fruits. Banana peels fertilize the soil without adding more nitrogen than the plant needs.