When was the first phone ever made?

Alexander Graham Bell was granted a United States patent for the telephone in 1876. Earlier devices by Johann Philipp Reis and Antonio Meucci had been tested in the 1850s, but the devices made by Bell, and his contemporary Elijah Gray, became the modern telephone.