How long do you steam cabbage?

In general, cook shredded cabbage for 5 to 8 minutes. Napa cabbage, savoy cabbage, and bok choy, however, may cook in only 3 to 5 minutes. In general, quarters should be cooked for 10 to 12 minutes. Red cabbage may take a few minutes longer than other varieties.