What is the universal speed limit?

For centuries, physicists thought there was no limit to how fast an object could travel. But Einstein showed that the universe does, in fact, have a speed limit: the speed of light in a vacuum. Nothing can travel faster than 300,000 kilometers per second (186,000 miles per second)