How many equinoxes are there in a year?

There are two equinoxes (on March 21 and on September 22 nicknamed the “vernal equinox” (spring equinox) and the “autumnal equinox” (fall equinox). They happen when the Earth's axis is tilted neither toward nor away from the sun, resulting in a "nearly" equal amount of daylight and darkness.