How long does it take to grill a piece of salmon?

Grill salmon steaks, skin down, undisturbed for about 10 to 15 minutes or until the fish flakes easily and it releases its fat, a thick, white substance that looks very similar to mayonnaise. Then grill another 10 additional minutes per each extra inch of thickness.