Why does seagulls live by the sea?

They are sea birds with web feet that are born for ocean life. They can unhinge their jaws, like snakes, to swallow really big fish. They also are smart enough to take a clam, oyster, or any shell fish to a high altitude and drop them on rocks to break the shells for a meal.