Is there a difference between chestnut and egg corn?

Yes, chestnuts are the seed from chestnut trees, while acorns are the seed from oak trees. The formation of the nuts is also vastly different and, taste-wise, chestnuts are sweeter, since acorns contain bitter-tasting tannin.