What day did billie joe mcallister jumped off the tallahatchie bridge?

June 3 marks an iconic date in the country music world. On this date, Billie Joe McAllister jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge in Leflore County and a song was made in his memory. The song was recorded by Bobbie Gentry, who was born in Chickasaw County, Mississippi.