What should a dog's heart rate be?

Small dogs, puppies and dogs who are out of shape will have faster heartbeats, and large dogs and those in good physical condition will have slower rates. “Normal” ranges from 60 to 140 beats per minute in a resting dog — 60 to 100 in big dogs and 100 to 140 in little ones