What are surgical masks made out of?

Surgical face masks are made with non-woven fabric, which has better bacteria filtration and air permeability. The material most commonly used to make them is polypropylene with 20 or 25 grams per square meter in density. Other materials are polystyrene, polycarbonate, polyethylene or polyester.