How do you open a brokerage account?

Opening a brokerage account only requires you go to one of the many websites such as E-Trade, Merrill Lynch, Charles Schwab, etc...and fill out some information. Typically it takes less than 5 minutes. Depending on which state you're in there are age edibility requirements