What is the thoracic spine?

The thoracic spine is the longest region of the spine, and by some measures it is also the most complex. Connecting with the cervical spine above and the lumbar spine below, the thoracic spine runs from the base of the neck down to the abdomen. It is the only spinal region attached to the rib cage.

---

The thoracic spine is made up of 12 vertebral bones that connect your neck to your lower back.