Where do lilacs grow?

Lilac, (genus Syringa), genus of about 25 species of fragrant and beautiful northern spring-flowering shrubs and small trees of the olive family (Oleaceae). Lilacs are native to eastern Europe and temperate Asia, and several are widely cultivated.