Why do dogs chew rocks?

Although pica is the most common cause of rock-eating in dogs, it is not the only medical explanation. Some dogs chew and swallow rocks or stones because they have nutritional deficiencies, and their bodies identify rocks as a good source of whatever is missing. Others have an intestinal disorder,