How long did it take to build tokyo?

Tokyo wasn't built in a day, and wasn't always called Tokyo - it was originally called Edo. The city grew in importance after 1590 AD, when Shogun Tokugawa made it his capital. The city was rebuilt after the end of WW2 in 1945 and has greatly expanded through the 20th and early 21st centuries.