What are the properties of tourmaline?

A complex silicate of boron and aluminum, whose composition can be expressed by the general formula WX3B3A13 (AlSi20 9)3- (0,0H,F)4, where W = Na,Ca. X = Al,Fe,,,,Li,Mg. Diaphaneity: Transparent to translucent to nearly opaque Mohs Hardness: 7 to 7.5 Specific Gravity: 2.8 to 3.3