What is cumin used for?

Cumin can be used both as the whole seed or ground. Cumin seed is usually toasted before use to bring out its aromatic, nutty flavor. Cumin is a staple ingredient in most curry powders and many spice blends. It's reserved primarily for savory recipes, like chili, stews, meat, fish, and vegetables.