Who sings the song summertime?

"Summertime" was composed in 1934 by George Gershwin. The hit went on to be covered by thousands of artists, in every genre from disco to reggae. A year after the opera’s premiere, a 21 year old jazz singer named Billie Holiday sang the first cover of the song that would reach the US charts.