What are the plain states?

The plains states are the states that lie partly or entirely within the Great Plains region. They are Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Iowa, Nebraska, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. The provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba are sometimes also considered plains states.