Who sang it's gonna be a bright sunshiny day?

"I Can See Clearly Now" is a song originally recorded by Johnny Nash. It was released in 1972, reaching number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It was covered by many artists throughout the years, including a 1993 hit version by Jimmy Cliff.