What's the story behind the nutcracker ballet?

The Nutcracker Ballet is based on the story "The Nutcracker and the King of Mice" written by E.T.A. Hoffman. What is seen on the stage today is different, but the basic plot remains the same - a young girl dreams of a Nutcracker Prince and a fierce battle against a Mouse King with seven heads.