How long does it take to cook an ostrich egg?

90 minutes If you start with the egg in cold water, then it takes around 50 minutes to soft-boil, and around 90 minutes to hard boil an ostrich egg. You can shave 10 minutes off that if you plunge it into a pan of already boiling water.