What does twenty forty vision mean?

This is regarded as - normal vision - and describes what someone should see when standing 20 feet away from an eye chart. If you are diagnosed with 20-40 vision, it means that at 20 feet: you can only see the details that a person with normal vision sees at 40 feet.