What is the south china sea called?

The current name for that area of the ocean is South China Sea. It used to be called the Southern Sea in China. The Gulf of Thailand and the Gulf of Tonkin are part of the South China Sea. The shallow waters south of the Riau Islands are also known as the Natuna Sea.