What's the difference between devil's food and chocolate cake?

Devil's food cake is richer, darker and fluffier than any regular chocolate cake can ever be And it's all thanks to the use of cocoa powder and the extra dose of baking soda. While chocolate cake usually calls for melted chocolate, devil's food cake relies on the rich flavor of cocoa powder.