Why do dogs get rid eyes?

The red eye is caused by the light from a camera flash reflecting off the tapetum lucidum behind the retina directly back at the camera. In many animals, including dogs, the retina has a special reflective layer called the tapetum lucidum that acts almost like a mirror at the backs of their eyes.