What color is ginger?

When applied to hair color, ginger refers to some shad of red hair. In paint, ginger has a reddish brown color. The plant ginger is a flowering plant that produces different colors of flowers, depending on the type of ginger. The herb ginger comes from the root, and in its natural state it is a tan.