When did franklin d. roosevelt get polio?

The paralytic illness of Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882–1945) began in 1921 when the future President of the United States was 39 years old.

---

On August 10, 1921. after a day of strenuous activity, Roosevelt came down with an illness characterized by fever, ascending paralysis, facial paralysis, prolonged bowel and bladder dysfunction, and numbness and hypersensitivity of the skin.