Why do you rinse beans?

The cloudy liquid you find in canned beans is mostly starch and salt that may change the texture or taste of a dish. Draining and rinsing the beans is to remove the excess salt and starch and improve flavor. Draining and rinsing also removes the metallic flavor sometimes found in canned beans.