Do the nittany lion roar?

No the lion does not roar. The Nittany Lion is the mascot of the Penn State Nittany Lions, located in University Park, Pennsylvania, USA. It is an eastern mountain lion, named for Mount Nittany, which overlooks the university. Mountain lions don't roar like African lions do.