What is a moon bird?

He’s called B95 because that’s the tag number scientists put on him to identify him. B95 is not only the oldest known member of his species, he’s nicknamed “Moonbird” because he migrates about 20,000 miles a year, and added up over his life, that exceeds the distance from the Earth to the Moon.