Why do people call potatoes spuds?

A false origin of how potatoes first began being called “spuds” you might often read is that it came from the 19th century group “The Society for the Prevention of an Unwholesome Diet” (SPUD), who among other things felt potatoes shouldn’t be eaten. But that's only a guess.