What candy was originally called fairy floss?

Cotton candy is a spun sugar confection that resembles cotton. In Australia they call it fairy floss. The candy is made by heating and liquefying sugar, spinning it centrifugally through minute holes — and finally allowing the sugar to rapidly cool and re-solidify into fine strands.