What's in sandpaper?

Sandpaper is made by gluing abrasive minerals such as aluminum oxide, garnet, and silicon oxide onto a paper backing and allowed to dry under some kind of pressure. These materials provide sharp edges for the sandpaper to act as a cutting or smoothing tool. Each one has different qualities to offer.