What does dude mean?

“Dude” is a colloquial way for addressing another person to whom the speaker is familiar with. While it has been traditionally used to address males, recent applications have converted “dude” to a unisex meaning. For example, Sarah sees her friend Jane and says “Hey dude, what’s up?”