Does fictional mean fake?

No, fiction is deliberately made up and presented as such; a fake is something pretending to be real. Because both a fake, and a fiction, are invented or made up, the term ‘fiction’ can be used to describe a fake. But a legitimate work of fiction, such as a novel, is not a fake.