How does a rattlesnake rattle?

The rattle on a rattlesnake is formed by hollow interlocked segments made of keratin. The segments fit loosely inside one another at the end of the tail. The snake then erects his tail and vibrates its muscles vigorously, causing the segments collide with each other to produce the rattling sound.