What's a submachine gun?

A submachine gun is a magazine-fed, automatic carbine designed to fire handgun cartridges. The term "submachine gun" was coined by John T. Thompson, the inventor of the Thompson submachine gun to describe its concept as an automatic firearm with notably less firepower than a machine gun